top of page

President Trump is my President

Today is President’s Day, and across the country “not my president” protests are popping up in opposition to the newly elected administration. Many angered citizens (mainly liberal) are voicing their discontent with President Trump and his circus/shit-show.

I have been a vocal opponent of Donald Trump’s since the start. I think he is a racist, sexist, bigot, and frankly, he is an idiot. I have been on edge since his election, fearing his lack of filter, fly-by-night attitude is going to drag us into World War III. At the very least, our allies are backing away and our presence on the international stage is embarrassing. I think he is doing a terrible job, I am living in fear, and I feel constantly overwhelmed.

However, despite all of this, President Trump is my president. I vehemently disagree with the line of protesting declaring that he is not. As much as it upsets me, as much as I abhor him, the man won the presidential election. My preferred candidate lost. I believe that any hint of denying this fact, or any declaration that he is not my president, is a degradation of the constitutional order and democracy this country is founded on. I refuse to stoop to that level.

This does not mean that I will not fight against his heinous policies with every bone in my body. I will never be silenced or restrained, and I am itching for a fight. But through all of that, I will never deny the man his title.

Happy President’s Day, Mr. Trump. May our past great leaders guide you to a more enlightened path.


RECENT POST
bottom of page